The journey has begun.

Welcome to my first post.

My family and I are new arrivals to Jakarta.  We moved here about 6 months ago from Australia and it has been quite a shock as we lived in a small beachside town in Queensland where we could stroll on the beach and swim in the ocean on any given day. I would go to the local farmers market to buy all our organic food for the week with only a quick trip to the supermarket to top up.

My daughter and I had just been to watch “That Sugar Film” (a wonderful documentary about the effects of sugar on your body) a few months before we left and together we had begun to make a conscious effort to cut back on our sugar intake.

Screenshot 2016-01-26 11.55.27

I had begun using various substitutes for sugar for cooking and baking. I had bought and read 3 wonderful books about other peoples journey with quitting or cutting back on sugar.

Things I felt were going well and then …… we moved, and it all went out the window!

After the initial culture shock and trying hard to find my feet I began to get that nagging feeling that it was time to begin the journey again of cutting out excessive sugar in my diet. As I am finding out in this journey is not going to be an easy one here in Jakarta.  Sugar or “gula” is in everything!!

This was going to be a BIG hill to climb.

This blog is going to be about the things I find out along the way; recipes I have a go at making with sugar substitutes or no sugar, places I find to source items, books I read and other information I discover. I am determined to reduce the amount of sugar my family and I consume and to find healthy, simple alternatives.

You are welcome to join me in my journey – a battle to reduce sugar intake!

 

6 thoughts on “The journey has begun.

  1. Hello! I love the sound of your blog. I am looking forward to joining you on your journey and sharing in your recipes and ideas on how to reduce the daily consumption of sugar in our lives also. Wishing you great success and enlightenment as you embark on this new adventure. 😊

    Like

  2. I look forward to following your journey and plan to join you along the way. I love how you aren’t giving up sugar all together and are just reducing it greatly. I’ve watched “That Sugar Film” however haven’t read the books and I’m very interested to see how it all translates into creating a very low sugar diet for families.

    Like

Comments are closed.