Out with the old and in with the new!

So last week I set out to clear my cupboards and fridge of high sugar items. I just wanted to share one unexpected high sugar item I discovered in my fridge – it made me smile as here I thought was a fairly ‘natural’ item.  Hiding in my fridge was a Thai stir fry sauce that I had purchased here in Jakarta. When I checked the label it had 48 grams of sugar in it!!!  To convert grams into teaspoons you divide it by 4, making it 12 teaspoons of sugar in a  bottle of which you were to use the whole contents for one meal. Nothing like sugar coated vegetables – so glad it was unopened.  It did remind me again how important it is to slow down in the supermarket and take the time to read labels. The above conversion also helps me to visualise the amount of sugar in items and whether it stays on the shelf or if it has the right to go in my trolley.

Now my cupboards are almost clear and I am ready to begin replacing some key items….

This week its mayonnaise. 

Mayonnaise can be dated back to 1756 where it was made up of mainly eggs and oil. If you investigate the labels of some of the mayonnaises on the supermarket shelves you will see how much this has changed.  So I was determined to find out more.  After reading David Gillespie’s web page and his section about mayonnaise in his book ‘Eat Real Food’ (The Book Depository ) I confirmed that lots of sugar can be hidden in mayonnaise as well as ‘bad oils’, which made it necessary for me to take control and make my own mayo. I loved this quote from Gillespie’s website –

“You know the world has gone mad when coke has less sugar than mayo.” 

This recipe comes from Gillespie book ‘Eat Real Food’ (The Book Depository ) and it is titled – Anthony’s mayonnaise.  I have made this recipe twice.  The first time I halved it, to make sure I liked it, but today I am making the full batch. It appeals to me not only because it is sugar free and uses good oils but because it only has 6 common ingredients, meaning I can go to my fridge and make it on any given day. Here is the yummy recipe –

ANTHONY’S MAYONNAISE

INGREDIENTS –

  •  2 eggs (I prefer organic ones if possible) FullSizeRender-11
  • 1 tablespoon dijion mustard
  • 2tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 cups of olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

 

METHOD – 

  1. In a food processor, place eggs, mustard and lemon juice – pulse to mix
  2. While food processor is on slow, slowly add the oil until it thickens
  3. Taste, and add seasoning if required 
  4. Place in an air tight container and refrigerate – I like to put my into recycled jam jars

The end product – enjoy

