Breakfast, lunch and dinner.

This week I thought I would look at a healthy sugar free meal for each part of the day.
Hope you get inspired in the kitchen!

Breakfast

Lets begin with breakfast – the most important meal of the day. A study of 5,000 nine to 11 year olds found a strong link between kids eating a healthy breakfast and scoring good marks. This is one of my favourite breakfasts dishes –

Though there are many ingredients I only have a small amount of each.

Here is what my breakfast looks like-

FullSizeRender_6

Lunch

My lunches vary everyday according to if I’m home or not and what time of the day it is that I get to eat lunch. I sometimes have a toastie, soup or make a salad but I thought I would share my ‘light lunch’ idea – hummus dip with raw veggies and rice crackers.

This dip is based on a Jamie Oliver hummus recipe which I halve.

  • 2 x 400g cans of chickpeas
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tsp crushed sea salt
  • 6 tbsp quality extra virgin olive oil (plus extra for drizzling)
  • 3½ tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • Paprika (optional)
  • Coriander or parsley leaves (optional)

Put all ingredients in a blender and get your vegetables ready and enjoy.

Dinner

One of the kids favourite dinners is hamburgers.

My meat mix is based on a Jamie Oliver recipie-

  • 12 crackersFullSizeRender-2
  •  fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 500 g quality minced beef
  • sea salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • Onion
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • Coconut oil (instead of an egg)

 

Then I lay out all of the ingredients….

FullSizeRender_1

Lettuce

Tomato

Beetroot

Meat

Cucumber

Cheese

Carrot

Pickles

Egg

and the kids come and create their own unique burger.

I often choose to eat mine as a deconstructed burger with no bun or as an open sandwich burger.

IMG_0606

I have enjoyed sharing some of my daily eating ideas with you.

