After school snack idea

The food area I have been struggling with while living in Jakarta is after school snacks for my teen kids.  They walk in the door after school and the first thing I hear is –

“Im starving!!”

So here is an idea I came up with to help with the after school munchies!

Crepes

pancakes pile against white background

My Crepe mixture

Ingredients –

  • Flour (wholemeal or white)
  • oil (coconut or olive)
  • milk
  • salt

Method –

  • Place all the ingredients into a bowl and mix.
  • Add more milk if batter is too thick
  • If batter is lumpy give a quick mix with a hand blender.
  • Heat some oil or ghee in a frypan and spoon in batter – spread it out to make thin crapes.
  • I have discovered that I can make them in my sandwich press with no extra oil or butter needed and they cook in a flash – no sticking!!

img_2788

I usually make a small amount as it goes a long way.  If the kids are still hungry it only takes a moment to make more batter. The amounts I have given are based on 6 large crepes.

Toppings –

This will depend on your child and what they like.some ideas are –

  • Fresh fruit, yoghurt and muesli
  • Grilled banna and yoghurt – add a sprinkle of cinnamon
  • Ham and cheese
  • Bacon or chicken, cheese and tomato … and pineapple
  • Salad veg – tomato, cucumber, carrot, lettuce, herbs etc…
  • Marinated meat and veg

There are endless combinations – be creative!!

You can put the ingredients out and let the kids make their own. I’m sure they will come up with combinations you never thought of!!

I have also used the same ideas for a quick evening meal.

Its healthy and fun to eat.

