“That was one of the best things you have ever cooked!”

I’m sitting in the car on the way to my school for a meeting and wondering what I should write about for this week’s entry; waiting for some kind of inspiration to fall from the sky! My mind is also thinking about what I’m going to cook for dinner tonight.  I can still hear my 13 year sons words that he said after dinner last night “that was one of the best things you have ever cooked mum.”  It then dawns on me that that is what I am going to share with you this week.

A bit of background – I find meat in Jakarta hard to buy, but think I over think it! I have discovered a place where I can source organic chicken and when I’m at Hero supermarket and see Australian mince, I stock up. From the embassy I can also get some Australian beef sausages. It certainly pushes my kitchen creativeness to the max to come up with new meals using 3 types of meat only.

On Tuesday, I was staring at my pack of sausages trying to think of what to do with them. In the past, I did either sausages, mash and vegetables, sausages, mash and salad or sausage and pasta. I didn’t really feel like any of these, so what does one do when they have a problem? Turn to google!  I saw these –

easy-sausage-rolls-11885_l

This made me think that perhaps I could turn my humble sausages into sausage rolls – one of my son’s favourite things to eat and something that you can’t find in Jakarta.

So here is what I created.

My Sausage Rolls

Pastry

*You can use store bought puff pastry sheets but it is easy to make your own. This is David Gilespies pie pastry recipe. I usually make the whole amount and put the leftovers in the freezer ready for my next creation.

Ingredients –

  • 225g butter
  • 2 1/2 cup plain flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup of ice cold water

Method –

  • Place flour and salt into food processor
  • Cut butter into small cubes
  • Add butter
  • Blend until it looks lite breadcrumbs
  • While the processor is going add the ice cold water until dough comes together – you may not require all of the water
  • Take dough out of food processor and wrap it in plastic and place into the fridge until its required

fullsizerender

Filling

Ingredients –

  • 1 carrot
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon of rosemary (dried or fresh and could be substituted for any herb)
  • tablespoon of freshly chopped parsley
  • 1 egg
  • 10 crackers or equivalent breadcrumbs
  • 4 fat beef sausages (Once again they could be a different meat)

*You could add in other veggies likethifnly sliced beans or zucchini

fullsizerender-7

Method

  • Bash your crackers until they are like breadcrumbs (I usually put mine in a ziplock bag to contain the mess)
  • Grate carrot
  • Dice onion finely
  • Take the skin off of the sausages and place in a bowl
  • Add in all of the ingredients into the bowl and mix very well – I like to get my hands into the mixture!

img_3525

Making

  • When both parts are ready take your dough out of the fridge and cut it into 4 pieces.
  • Roll out one of the four pieces of dough thinly
  • When it is ready add your meat in a long sausage shape along one edge of the dough.
  • Roll the the dough around the meat
  • Place sealed edge on the bottom when placing it on a baking tray.
  • If you would like to get fancy you can do an egg wash to seal it and to add some sesame seeds or poppy seeds to the top.

fullsizerender_1fullsizerender_2fullsizerender_3fullsizerender_4

Cooking

Depending on how thick you like your meat to how many sausage rolls you can make. With my mixture I made 2 rolls. Cooking time will also vary depending on meat amount and thickness of your pastry. As a guide, I cooked mine for 25-30 minutes.

Eating

They are yummy both hot and cold, and can be served with a salad or hot veggies. I plated mine with mash and a salad and of course some homemade tomato sauce!

I’m about to make my second round for school lunch boxes if they survive the afternoon snack time rush.

img_3532

Hope you enjoy them as much as my son did and that you are lucky enough to get a comment like –

“That was one of the best things you have ever cooked!”

 

 

